Skip to content
A Secure Online Service from Utah.gov
In most cases, all businesses in Utah are required by law to register with the Utah Department of Commerce,
Division of Corporations and Commercial Code, the Utah Department of Workforce Services, the Utah State Tax
Commission, the Utah Labor Commission, Internal Revenue Service and with local municipalities to obtain a
business license. In addition, certain types of businesses need special licenses and permits in order to
operate, i.e., insurance agents, contractors, doctors and dry cleaners, etc.
Registration insures that the business name cannot be legally used by another business. The more you use
the registered name and become known to the public by name, the more legal protection your name earns
against "predatory encroachment" by other businesses.
Registration is required so that a comprehensive state registry of all business and corporate information
is available for public reference. This information is vital to an orderly legal system and marketplace.
Without it, the public or other businesses may have no way of knowing the persons with whom they are doing
In addition, registration is required by law to provide public notice as to who owns or stands behind a
business entity. You cannot file a lawsuit in court as a business if your business is not registered.
Registration enables careful business people to verify information about companies with whom they do
Completing the online registration process could take as little as fifteen minutes depending on the
complexity of the business organization, or as long as one to two days if you have to wait for a
response from one of the participating entities. This system will allow a maximum of 120 days to complete
the process before deleting any partially submitted applications.
Business registration fees typically consist of a filing fee with the Utah Department of Commerce, Division
of Corporations and Commercial Code and a business license fee that is assessed by local municipalities for
each business location and these fees vary at each municipality. In some instances a business will also be
required to pay additional licensing and permitting fees depending on business activities.
The OneStop Online Business Registration system will only collect the filing fee for the Utah Department of
Commerce, Division of Corporations and Commercial Code that ranges from $22.00 to $52.00 and these fees are
non-refundable. These fees can be paid with a Visa, MasterCard, or virtual check.
Local licensure ensures that businesses are safe to the public and given the protections under the law to
which a licensed business is entitled. A business may be visited or inspected and required to fulfill local
zoning, building and parking requirements before receiving a license. This ensures employee and public
health, safety and welfare. In most cases each business location will require a business license. However, a
phone call to the city or county office will alleviate doubt. Click
here for a listing of muncipality contact information.