A Secure Online Service from Utah.gov


State Construction Registry

A Service from Utah.gov

File a Notice of Completion

Who should file a Notice of Completion?

Done by: Contractors, Owners, Title Companies

For: Private and Government Projects

When: After receiving certificate of occupancy, final inspection or all substantial work is complete. Once a Notice of Completion is filed, all remaining preliminary notices must be filed within 10 days and the time to file a lien is shortened to 90 days instead of 180 days.

What is a notice of completion used for?

Upon final completion of a construction project, a notice of completion may be filed with the SCR by the owner, original contractor, lender, surety or title company. Final completion does not occur if work remains to be completed for which the owner is holding payment to ensure completion of the work.

Read full law here: Utah Code 38-1a-507.