A Secure Online Service from Utah.gov


State Construction Registry

A Service from Utah.gov

File a Preliminary Notice

Who should file a Preliminary Notice?

Done by: Contractors, Sub Contractors, Suppliers

For: Private and Government Projects

When: Within 20 days after they started working on the project. This grants the filer a right to lien the property if they don't get paid.

Please Note

Any person furnishing labor, service, equipment, or material for which a mechanics lien or payment bond claim may be made shall provide preliminary notice to the SCR within 20 after starting work. Preliminary notices must be filed within 20 days after furnishing labor, services, material and/or equipment. Read full law here: Utah Code 38-1a-501.